About Case Texas

The Capital Area Suburban Exchange (CASE) is a non-profit educational, networking and support organization for the directors, consultants, and service professionals of utility and special districts located within Central Texas.

Our history

CASE grew out of a series of efforts to create an organization to represent and support Central Texas MUDs and their constituents.

CASE traces its roots to the Central Texas Association of Utility Districts (CTAUD) which was founded in 1994 to give Central Texas suburban governments, particularly municipal utility districts, a seat at the table during broad-reaching public policy debates.

In 1997, the influence of CTAUD was not enough to overcome the City of Austin annexing a large number of Central Texas MUDs over the opposition CTAUD and its constituents. Through advocacy and political stewardship, David L. Harper, of Anderson Mill’s MUD, along with members of CTAUD, and supported by the Texas Water Conservation Association (TWCA) and the Association of Water Board Directors (AWBD) Senate Bill 89, passed in 1999 providing major annexation reform.

Seeing the need to have an organization dedicated to the unique issues of Central Texas MUDs and similar special utility districts, veterans of this dynamic era of local governance came together to form the Capital Area Suburban Exchange (CASE) in 2004. Donna Howe of Wells Branch Municipal Utility District became its founding president, and the CASE organization became centered on supporting directors and consultants of Central Texas MUDs and special utility districts by providing legislative updates, education, and networking opportunities.

When CASE was just getting started, it hosted its annual conference in a rather unconventional spot: the Island Cinema. Picture this – members gathered for informative sessions, workshops, and networking, all while treating themselves to a leisurely matinee in the afternoon. Oh, the joys of combining business with pleasure! CASE hosts an annual conference in addition to hosting workshops, legislative updates, educational presentations, and networking gatherings to inform and support the directors of member utility districts and their consultants

Board of directors


Tira Jones Holcomb

Hays County MUD #5


Mindy Martinez


Linda Hubble

Public Finance Group LLC

Hays County MUD #5

Incoming President

Trent Rush

Hitchcock Design Group

Redbird Ranch FWSD #3

Past President

Brad Burns

Williamson County MUD #10


Jenn Scholl

Armbrust & Brown, PLLC


Donna Howe

Travis County MUD #19


Brandon Somers

Wilbarger Creek MUD #1


Joseph Yaklin

BGE, Inc

Social Media

© 2024 CASE Texas | All rights reserved